114084-Master
Macpac Microlight Hiking Tent — One Person

Images

Macpac Microlight Hiking Tent — One Person, Kiwi, hi-res
Zoom

Details

114084-KWI00-OS

Macpac Microlight Hiking Tent — One Person

A$699.99 A$489.99
Or pay in 4 easy installments with Info

Variations

In Stock

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Add to Wishlist
Check stock In store or for Click & Collect
Macpac Adventure Hub Nunawading
Change store
Why we made this
A single-person transalpine hiking tent, the four-season Microlight is durable and comfortable in alpine environments.
  • Product Description
    Ideal for solo adventurers, the four-season Microlight Hiking Tent is engineered to minimise weight, maximise durability and provide aerodynamic stability in high winds. Effectively shedding snow in alpine environments, the Microlight has a single ridge pole, Multi-Pitch™ design. The Multi-Pitch™ system offers ultimate versatility, allowing you to pitch the fly and inner together or separately — or alternatively, you can pitch the fly and inner at the same time while still connected. The waterproof UV30™ SI fly is made from a silicone-coated nylon fabric known for its strength, water resistance and UV protection. It has a 3,000 mm hydrostatic head. Please note, this fly needs to be manually seam sealed with the provided SilNet™ seam sealer. A Torrentwear™ XP tub floor design is both waterproof and durable, keeping the water out and removing the need for a separate footprint. One DAC Featherlite NSL pole is included — these poles are developed through DAC's 'green anodizing' process which helps to minimise toxic chemicals in the production process, which is better for workers and the environment. A single vestibule provides space for cooking and some gear storage, while the double door, internal mesh and four vent system improves airflow in warmer climates. The best choice for solo adventurers wishing to comfortably camp in alpine conditions, the durable Microlight is warmer (and slightly heavier) than the Sololight Hiking Tent by comparison.
  • Design features
    Single person transalpine hiking tent with single-pole Multi-Pitch™ design
    Waterproof UV30™ SI fly has a 3,000 mm hydrostatic head — please note, is fly needs to be manually seam sealed with SilNet™ seam sealer (provided)
    Torrentwear™ XP floor is waterproof with a 10,000 mm hydrostatic head
    Waterproof 'tub floor' design to eliminate need for separate footprint
    One DAC Featherlite NSL pole for strength and stability — green anodised to help minimise toxic chemicals in production process
    Internal mesh and large double-door system for improved airflow
    Single vestibule for cooking and gear storage
    Internal mesh pockets for organised living
  • Product Specifications
    Outer FabricUV30™ SI 100% Nylon Ripstop, 30D with Silicone coating — needs to be manually seam sealed with SilNet™ seam sealer (provided)
    Tent Inner Fabric100% Nylon Ripstop (40D)
    Outer Fabric Hydrostatic Head (mm)3000
    Floor FabricTorrentwear™ XP 100% Nylon (70D/210T with PU coating) — 10,000 mm Hydrostatic Head
    Floor Area (m2)2.1
    Pole TypeDAC Featherlite NSL 9.6 mm
    Pole Count1
    Pitching SystemMulti-Pitch™  
    Persons1
    Vestibule Size (m2)1.2
    Dimensions HxWxD (cm)41 x 14 (rolled size)
    Weight (g)1600 (Max), 1400 (Min)
  • Care
    Always dry tent components before storing
    When required, clean your tent with pure, non-detergent soap or Nikwax® Tech Wash® and a soft-bristled brush or sponge
    Do not machine wash
    Rinse well and dry in a well-ventilated area out of direct sunlight
    After washing, we recommend that you reproof the fly with Nikwax® Tent & Gear SolarProof®
    UV damage — do not leave tent pitched in direct sunlight for longer than necessary
    Hot surfaces — do not pitch tent on hot surfaces as can cause blistering of fabric
    Repairs — fabric patches and a pole repair sleeve are included for temporary repair
    Contact Macpac Repairs Department for permanent repair — see ‘Warranty & Repairs’ link under the Help section for more information

4.3 / 5.0
41 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
20
14
6
0
1
Loved it but dissapointed that it seems to have perished when it in use
Just pulled my microlight out after been stored for nearly ten years. Have it a hose down (not highly pressured) and the silicon coating came peeling off... Anyone else had this trouble... Pretty disappointed as i was finally going to take it for a multi day solo. Any suggestions please
March 9, 2020
Response from Macpac
Hello Catherine, thank you for your review, and sorry to hear about the tent fly PU coating peeling off. Unfortunately there are a number of factors that can contribute to this. Storage in cold or damp conditions is best to avoid (think a NZ garage over winter), age is a contributor, and also we would not recommend hosing the inside of the tent fly. Having said that, we may very well have a replacement fly for you. Please do reach out to our Customer Care team on customercare@macpac.co.nz. They will need to know colour of your fly, age of the tent as exact as you can, and a photo if you can. Thanks the Macpac Team
March 9, 2020
Customer C
Trustworthy and easy to manage.
My third microlight in thirty years. An excellent and trustworthy tent for all seasons.
January 11, 2020
Purchased
7 months ago
Great Tent Shame About Sag
Great little light tent for my back country work. Already been in heavy Taranaki rain and nice and dry. Fits me and my kiwi dog in (just) with him sleeping on my pack. I like the vestibule space and big view when the zip is open. But there seems to be a design flaw. Even when pitched on flat surface (eg my lawn when seam sealing) there is a droop/sag in one corner which cannot be remedied by tension etc. This applies to the fly and inner. Very annoying. And a BIG shame which means it doesn't get 5 stars. Surely this can be fixed MacPac?
January 8, 2020
Response from Macpac
Hi Joanna, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can see our Customer Care Team have reached out to you via email 10/1 to offer assistance. It is likely a pitching issue, which should be easily solved. Any further issues please do drop us an email @ customercare@macpac.co.nz
February 13, 2020
Customer C
Still going after over twenty years.
I brought mine around 1991 I think, I've used it ever since. It's been to the far north half a dozen times and use for weekends year round in Scotland. I've two newer lighter one man tents but they are a bit delicate and can't take strong winds like the Microlite. I like the speed it can be erected and it's weatherproofness I've never been wet in this tent. When I first got it I had a play around with the tension on the pegging out points mainly on the inner, since then I've not had a problem with sagging inner. I'm 180cm tall and can just sit up in the middle of the hoop. There's enough room for me and my rucksack, boots etc and have somewhere to cook.
December 22, 2019
187cm tall
I have had this tent for several years and it has served me well. Nice and light and warm, easy to pitch and pack up. I am 187cm tall with medium build so I it is only just big enough for me.
October 19, 2019
Good but could be great
A nice strong tent with a brilliant floor and good size for a 1 man tent, however it does have a few flaws. The inner is pretty saggy, it could do with a 2 way zip on the outer door and the pole sleeve being on the inside seems to be of no advantage but does make thing quite awkward if you want to take out or put in the inner whilst the outer is up. If you addressed these issues it would be one of the best tents in the world.
October 12, 2019
Fantastic all season tent for serious use
I bought my first Microlight while working in Australia in 1998. I had it for fifteen years and used it in all sorts of places from Queensland to Iceland and Norway in winter, but mostly in wet and windy Scotland throughout the year. Eventually I gave it to a friend's son who still uses it. I then bought myself another. It's not the lightest tent on the market, but it is extremely robust and weatherproof and I would choose it over more expensive and lighter options which don't have the same toughness. I haven't had any real issues with pitching or condensation, as mentioned by others, although the fly sometimes gets a bit damp. But this is a trade off. You either have weather resistance or ventilation. Difficult to have both. I'd rather have the former. Two of my friends now swear by this tent too. It's good that Macpac haven't surrendered to the lightness over usefulness trend that most of the other brands seem to have fallen victim to.
October 8, 2019
Inner sagging?
Hi folks. Sorry for this being a question and not a review but couldn't work out how to reply to the other reviewers on this site. I'm looking to purchase this tent for the snow and keep reading about the inner sagging issue. Just wondering two things - is the inner sagging still an issue or has this been fixed in recent production models and secondly has anyone had experience with this tent with significant snow loading? I'd like to take one up to Whites River Hut (Kosciuszko National Park) late August and there's potential for 30 cm overnight. Appreciate any advice/thoughts. Thanks :)
July 18, 2019
Response from Macpac
Hello Terrylea, thank you for your review. If you have any concerns at all about your garment, please do take into your local Macpac store, where the team can do a quick assessment and help you find a solution. Thanks the Macpac Team
February 16, 2020
Customer C
Micro light tent
I found this tent to be very good, nice light and compact, easy to put up and pack up. I purchased more pegs for the fly as I found on the tops you need to have the storm ropes out and pegged down. Condensation is an issue, and if you need to pack up in the rain the storage bag is too small when you try to cram it in quickly
April 21, 2019
Fantastic lightweight tent!!
I’ve had this tent for over a year now and it’s taken me in a 13 day hike in the Victoria Alpine National Park, Wilsons Promontory National Park and many other small trips.
Very easy to set up and it can on whatever weather rain, hail or snow. One thing I’ve found is the inner can be a bit saggy, for me it’s not that bigger a deal.
It has plenty of room outside the inner for a pack, boots, etc.
I would 110% recommend this tent to anyone, well worth the money!! ??
April 10, 2019
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 2 questions Browse 2 questions and 2 answers
what is the internal height please?
micklaw on Nov 28, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Hello Michael, 1m high. Thanks the Macpac Team
is there a footprint for this tent?
Jack T on Oct 21, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Hello Jack,

No it does not, it is designed so that you don't need one.

Kind regards,
The Macpac Team