114087
Macpac Minaret Hiking Tent

Images

Macpac Minaret Hiking Tent, Kiwi, hi-res
Zoom

Details

114087-KWI00-OS

Macpac Minaret Hiking Tent

A$899.99 A$599.99
Or pay in 4 easy installments with Info

Variations

In Stock

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Add to Wishlist
Check stock In store or for Click & Collect
Macpac Adventure Hub Nunawading
Change store
Why we made this
One of our most versatile tents, this Macpac classic is a warm and highly-functional three-season tunnel tent, made for hiking and summer mountaineering.
  • Product Description
    Built with a two-pole tunnel design, the Minaret tent is made for aerodynamic stability in high winds and strength under load. The Minaret’s two-pole design cuts down on weigh significantly. We chose to make the fly out of UV30™ SI, a silicone-coated fabric known for its strength, water resistance and UV protection. Please note, this fly needs to be manually seam sealed with SilNet™ seam sealer (provided). The floor is built with our legendary Torrentwear™ XP tub, designed to be waterproof and durable. We've incorporated the Multi-Pitch™ system, allowing you to pitch the fly independent of the inner so that the inner stays dry when packing up in wet conditions. Designed for the tramper or climber, the single vestibule provides space for cooking and gear storage, and can be expanded using the retractable floor. Warm enough for a cold night on a high mountain pass, we've also included a large double door that can provide airflow when it gets hot during the summer. A unique four-vent system encourages airflow, managing condensation without compromising insulation. The three-season Minaret tent is designed to support two trampers or climbers above and below the snowline. Warmer than the two-season Duolight tent, but also slightly heavier, the Minaret is the best choice if you value durability and wish to comfortably use a tent in alpine conditions. If you are looking for a four-season tunnel tent, the slightly larger Olympus may be a better option.
  • Design features
    Two-pole tunnel system creates aerodynamic stability and strength under load
    DAC Featherlite® NSL™ poles, giving strength and stability while being better for the planet
    Single vestibule provides sheltered entry
    Retractable floor gives cooking and gear storage options
    Internal double-door system provides for both insulation and air flow options
    Numerous internal mesh pockets for organised living
    Please note: the water-resistant UV30™ SI fly needs to be manually seam sealed (SilNet™ seam sealer is provided)

  • Product Specifications
    Outer FabricUV30™ SI - 30D Nylon Ripstop, with Silicone Coating (needs to be manually seam sealed — SilNet™ seam sealer provided)
    Tent Inner Fabric40D Nylon Ripstop
    Main Fabric Hydrostatic Head (mm)3000
    Floor FabricTorrentwear™ XP 10,000mm HH
    Floor Area (m2)2.35
    Pole TypeDAC Featherlite NSL 9.6 mm
    Pole Count2
    Pitching SystemMulti-Pitch™  
    Persons2
    Vestibule Size (m2)0.57
    Dimensions HxWxD (cm)43 x 14 (rolled size)
    Weight (g)2400 (Max), 2100 (Min)
  • Care
    When required, clean your tent with pure soap (non-detergent) or Nikwax Tech Wash® and a soft-bristled brush or sponge
    Rinse well and dry in a well-ventilated area out of direct sunlight
    After washing your tent we recommend that you reproof the fly with Nikwax Tent & Gear SolarProof®







4.5 / 5.0
23 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
16
4
2
0
1
Ability to purchase replacement fly much appreciated.
Thank you Macpac for selling a replacement fly for my old blue minaret. May it last for many more adventures with its new green fly. Highly recommend this great tent.
February 29, 2020
can not buy replacement parts
DO NOT BUY. As someone that works in the outdoors and has always used Macpac Equiment I thought it would be a easy task getting a replacemnt pole for this tent after my son lost it- I was wrong!! I would reccomend going for other well renowned companies that can supply replacement parts if lost/damaged.
January 15, 2020
Response from Macpac
Gidday Jordie, thanks for the review and we are really sorry to hear you had no luck finding spare parts. I believe we have been in contact via Facebook and the parts have been found. If you have any ongoing concerns please do email our Customer Care Team on customercare@macpac.co.nz
February 13, 2020
Customer C
dependable
Have had two minarets . would recommend if not too fussed about weight. Only thing i don't like is the angled floor space and cannot stow two packs in vestibule any longer. but no room inside either. Old style of minaret was perfect.
December 25, 2019
You pay for what you get and if you buy it on sale you get extreme value for money.
This is my second Minaret. I gave the first one to my niece because I thought it was near the end of its life. That was probably 15 years ago and it's still going strong after a lot more use. These are the fastest tents to pitch. Leave it connected together as one so everything stays dry if it is raining. Poles in, 2 pegs at one end, go to the other end, grab the 2 stake out points, lift and flap a bit like shaking a towel, stretch out and stake those 2 points. Done. Of course if its blowing like hell you will need to stake it out a bit more. Has never let me down in any conditions. Not the lightest of this size tent but you pay for less weight with tissue paper floors and fragility. Go to the gym so you can carry an extra 500gms To those that don't like the idea of having to seam seal the fly,it is actually a bonding glue which holds it all together and most tape seals fail in my experience. Makes the tent tougher. Tunnel tents are more able to be pitched in the Bush. Perfect for 1.
December 12, 2019
Damp Feet Disappointment
On the face of it this is a great tent. The quality is clearly evident and pitches so well and perfect for lightweight travel.
However there seems to be an issue with the length and shape of the tent. Moisture transfers from the fly and into the tent when the sleeping bag touches the end.
I'm only 175cm tall however the tent tapers so much at the feet that moisture transfers easily from the fly.
Not really a 2 person tent given the angled floor at the head reduces leg room significantly.
Gil P (Nelson,NZ)
May 2, 2019
Bombproof in wind
I've used my Minaret in a range of conditions (all in Australia) ranging from Southwest Tasmania to Kosciuszko and warmer areas of Northern NSW in Summer. The tent has been great so far. It was better suited to the mild and cold conditions though.

The only time this tent becomes uncomfortable is in very warm conditions (which are quite common if you're camping around Australia in summer). If you do most of your camping in summer then this isn't the right tent for you. As soon as the sun hits the tent in the morning you really can't stay in the tent as it gets so hot. The full nilon inner and single door design don't allow for much ventilation.

I had 1 day in Kosciuszko where the winds got over 100 Km/h and the tent stood up all day perfectly. The poles got a little bent but that doesn't matter too much. Its also super easy to set up and having the inner and fly attached before you set it up means that it doesn't get wet if its raining!

Overall if you're looking for a tent that will suit wet and windy conditions as well as mild conditions this tent is fantastic. If you are camping in hot conditions this isn't the best choice.
May 1, 2019
Great tent that can handle any conditions.
I bought my Minaret in 1994 to take to the Eastern Arthurs in South West Tasmania and it has given great service since. I've taken it all over Australia, from the bottom of Tasmania to Hinchinbrook Island in North Queensland and it has never let me down. A few years ago now I had the floor seam seals re-done, but given its age, a bit of maintenance is not unexpected. I'm heading off to South West Tasmania again in a couple of weeks and it will be with me again - a constant companion on most walks. It is also a very warm tent, particularly with two in it, so you never sleep cold. To that end, me and my walking mates have given it a nick-name, no longer the Macpac Minaret, now the Macpac Inferno.
April 10, 2019
My first bushwalking tent in 1988
The Minaret, in its earliest Puffin-blue incarnation, was my first solo bushwalking tent from 1988 to 1995, coming with me up Mount Bogong (twice, once sitting out a blizzard). It was pensioned off when the seems came apart where the poles thread through (probably through intensive use in myriad conditions). Now I am making a second tilt at the newest Sunflower yellow Minaret, crawling inside and reviving old memories of being kept safe and sound during a wild electrical storm and deluge at the top of Briggs Bluff/Mount Difficult in Victoria's Grampians. This time the tent will come with me on my around-Australia roadie travels. Looking forward to rekindling a grand old flame!
March 11, 2019
No 2 man tent
I have used the tent know for a year and im disappointed i brought it.
There is nothing to complain about its water resistances and ability to stand up in wind.
Its the little things like the angle entrance that makes it a roomy 1 man tent definitely not 2 man as advertised.
Im over six foot so when i lie down my feet touch the top of the tent.
It makes 2+ nights uncomfortable and sharing with my 12 year old som impossible.
February 28, 2019
My adventure companion for 15 years
I recently retired my minaret for an Olympus after 15 years of use all over the world. It never let me down. Snow, hail rain, and a memorable lightning storm on my buggery in Australia. Performed flawlessly. Did 3 month trip through Europe sleeping in it every day. At the end of the trip my wife and I thought it had got bigger. Took me to so many places and repaid the purchase cost many times over!
October 16, 2018
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 1 question Browse 1 question and 2 answers
Can you buy a replacement fly?
Adrian B on Nov 15, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Hello Adrian,

Sure can. We have these in stock in both Kiwi and Spectra Yellow colours - product code #114676 and the rrp $229.99

Enquire at your local Macpac store - www.macpac.co.nz/our-stores

Thanks the Macpac Team